Page 1 of 4

NVMe shows as External Device

Posted: Thu Sep 13, 2018 9:47 am
by tikizondo94
Running 10.13.5 with and having an issue with my new NVMe drive showing as an external device. Any ideas on fixing this? Ive tried all the "usual" fixes, external icons patch, ahciportinjector.kext etc. Am i missing something??

Re: NVMe shows as External Device

Posted: Thu Sep 13, 2018 10:00 am
by Shaneee
Have you tried the patch from PikerAlpha?
Code: Select all
<dict>
    <key>Comment</key>
    <string>IONVMeFamily Pike R. Alpha Patch#External</string>
    <key>Disabled</key>
    <false/>
    <key>Name</key>
    <string>IONVMeFamily</string>
    <key>Find</key>
    <data>SIXAdAeAiwgBAAAQ</data>
    <key>Replace</key>
    <data>kJCQkJCAiwgBAAAQ</data>
</dict>

Re: NVMe shows as External Device

Posted: Thu Sep 13, 2018 7:47 pm
by tikizondo94
Yes sir, Does not seem to make a difference. Also tried latest AHCIPortInjector.kext just to see if it would do anything. Nothing. Attached are my current outputs if that helps. Thanks Shaneee :)

Re: NVMe shows as External Device

Posted: Thu Sep 13, 2018 10:07 pm
by ydeng
Inject "built-in" property to pci2646,5008 (right above IONVMeController) might help.

Re: NVMe shows as External Device

Posted: Thu Sep 13, 2018 10:20 pm
by AlGrey
you can use this patch in your config.plist

Re: NVMe shows as External Device

Posted: Thu Sep 13, 2018 10:58 pm
by tikizondo94
ydeng wrote:Inject "built-in" property to pci2646,5008 (right above IONVMeController) might help.
How would i go about doing that?
Post Merged
AlGrey wrote:you can use this patch in your config.plist
Im currently using that patch and it has not seemed to make a difference..

Re: NVMe shows as External Device

Posted: Fri Sep 14, 2018 10:17 pm
by ydeng
tikizondo94 wrote: Thu Sep 13, 2018 10:59 pm
ydeng wrote:Inject "built-in" property to pci2646,5008 (right above IONVMeController) might help.
How would i go about doing that?
Post Merged
AlGrey wrote:you can use this patch in your config.plist
DSDT/SSDT like the following:

Device(pci2646,5008)
{
Name(_ADR, 0)
Method (_DSM, 4)
{
If (!Arg2) { Return (Buffer() { 0x03 } ) }
Return (Package()
{
"built-in", 1
})
}
}

Or you can write a small kext to do this https://pikeralpha.wordpress.com/2014/0 ... /#comments. On 13.3 this was internal, right?

Re: NVMe shows as External Device  Topic is solved

Posted: Fri Sep 14, 2018 11:03 pm
by tikizondo94
Ive never used this drive on 10.13.3 only on 10.13.5. I just got the NVMe drive yesterday. Cloned my 10.13.5 SSD drive and fired it up. Always shows as external.
Post Merged
Im no pro at SSDT compilation. Anyway you could lend me a hand with this @ydeng?
Post Merged
Solved. AlGrey straightened me out :)
viewtopic.php?f=53&t=5185#p42704

Re: NVMe shows as External Device

Posted: Sun Feb 17, 2019 6:16 pm
by treysig33
@AlGrey, can you reupload that screenshot, the image is invalid now and im having this same problem.

Re: NVMe shows as External Device

Posted: Wed Feb 27, 2019 9:16 pm
by DerJKM
Same here, also having this problem, but the screenshot is missing. Would be great if @AlGrey can republish it! Thanks!