Page 2 of 4

Re: NVMe shows as External Device

Posted: Thu Feb 28, 2019 10:54 am
by Shaneee
Download the following application, https://amd-osx.com/files/IOReg.zip
Save that to file and extract a clean DSDT using Clover. When at Clover boot screen press F4 then boot. Mount EFI and navigate to EFI > EFI > CLOVER > ACPI > origin.

Now upload the saved IOReg file and DSDT.aml from the Clover folder and I'll make a SSDT for you to fix NVME. I had to do the same for mine.

Re: NVMe shows as External Device

Posted: Sat Mar 02, 2019 4:15 pm
by AlGrey
@treysig33, @DerJKM, replace your PCI address (can be found in the bootlog generated by clover configurator)

Re: NVMe shows as External Device

Posted: Sun Jun 02, 2019 4:54 am
by Robert Nguyen
@treysig33 & @DerJKM I've figured it out, hope it can help:

Re: NVMe shows as External Device

Posted: Mon Nov 11, 2019 5:01 am
by e97
Thanks for sharing! Side note: my PciAddr does not match up from the bootlog to DiskUtility but the PCIe root address does

Re: NVMe shows as External Device

Posted: Sat Feb 01, 2020 1:50 am
by tikizondo94
Back to having this issue again. This time with OpenCore Bootloader. I have added my NVMe device properties and added "internal" built in. But still the drive shows as an external in disk utility. Any ideas how to fix this within Opencore?

Re: NVMe shows as External Device

Posted: Sat Feb 01, 2020 10:56 am
by Shaneee
I use a SSDT to fix mine. Is that not what you used on Clover?

Re: NVMe shows as External Device

Posted: Sat Feb 01, 2020 12:24 pm
by tikizondo94
I used Clover/Devices/Arbitrary. Added my pci address for my NVME drive then added built-in "1" data. Worked fine within Clover. I dont see any options like this within Opencore. Or maybe im missing something.

Re: NVMe shows as External Device

Posted: Sat Feb 01, 2020 12:32 pm
by Shaneee
That's still possible in OpenCore under DeviceProperties.
Code: Select all
	<key>DeviceProperties</key>
	<dict>
		<key>Add</key>
		<dict>
			<key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x8,0x1)/Pci(0x0,0x4)</key>
			<dict>
				<key>AAPL,slot-name</key>
				<string>Internal</string>
			</dict>
		</dict>
		<key>Block</key>
		<dict/>
	</dict>
For example.

Re: NVMe shows as External Device

Posted: Sat Feb 01, 2020 12:40 pm
by tikizondo94
Im currently using that method but it dosent seem to make a difference. It shows my NVME drive in PCI devices in system report. Thats all. Still shows external in diskutil.

Re: NVMe shows as External Device

Posted: Sat Feb 01, 2020 12:43 pm
by Shaneee
Send me your DSDT and IOReg output.