Page 5 of 5

Re: Change CPU Name in About this Mac

Posted: Fri Aug 23, 2019 6:31 pm
by Shaneee
@KojiAiba, BBEdit

Re: Change CPU Name in About this Mac

Posted: Sat Aug 24, 2019 7:13 am
by KojiAiba
Shaneee wrote: Fri Aug 23, 2019 6:31 pm @KojiAiba, BBEdit
Thanks a lot! BBedit could open and edit, and it worked! :thumbup:

Image

Re: Change CPU Name in About this Mac

Posted: Mon Aug 26, 2019 10:58 pm
by abheedevta
KojiAiba wrote: Thu Aug 22, 2019 5:32 pm
Shaneee wrote: Thu Jun 01, 2017 12:54 pm If it's showing as Unknown then navigate to System\Library\PrivateFrameworks\AppleSystemInfo.framework\Versions\A\Resources\English.lproj and open up AppleSystemInfo.strings in TextWrangler. This app is on the App Store. Find the following and change it to what you want,
Code: Select all
	<key>UnknownCPUKind</key>
	<string>Unknown</string>
Code: Select all
	<key>UnknownCPUKind</key>
	<string>FX-8370</string>
Fantastic!

Except textwrangler wont launch on my OS and i tried other editors plist is in binary, so you can't edit it in binary without proper editor...

No other solution than textwrangler ?

Thanks :)
I used BBEdit.

Re: Change CPU Name in About this Mac

Posted: Tue Aug 27, 2019 3:22 am
by KojiAiba
yes thanks @Shaneee told me and it workd perfectly

Re: Change CPU Name in About this Mac

Posted: Fri Oct 25, 2019 1:33 pm
by larenen
Hi, so i got a strange problem. In my About this mac, there is nothing more than just speed of my CPU, and it its like this since beginning. I even tried to modify unknown string but well, no success.

Re: Change CPU Name in About this Mac

Posted: Tue Jan 07, 2020 3:25 am
by qihaoyan
I am having the same problem here, and those fixes don't seems to for work me :(

Re: Change CPU Name in About this Mac

Posted: Wed Jan 15, 2020 4:04 pm
by HackeyMac
I'm having problems making this work on Catalina 10.15.2.
  • "About this Mac" only shows the speed for the CPU. There's no "unknown" or incorrect CPU type, just the speed and nothing else.
  • There's no English.lproj, but there is an en.lproj that seems to be the equivalent.
  • The system files are on a read-only file system.
For the read-only problem, I searched around and found these Terminal commands:
Code: Select all
sudo mount -t apfs -wu /dev/disk1s5 /Volumes
killall Finder
I was able to make the changes to the file and copy it back into its original folder, but the changes never take effect, even after rebooting.

The "A" folder in the framework has a "_CodeSignature" folder that contains a file named "CodeResources". It's a xml plist with entries for all the string resource files in the framework. Is it possible that the failure is because the code signatures don't match anymore?

Re: Change CPU Name in About this Mac

Posted: Mon Feb 10, 2020 8:27 pm
by jyotirmay
Same Here.... Only The Cpu Speed... Nothing Helped