Page 2 of 2

Re: VoodooPState AMD FX 4100 HELP !!

Posted: Wed May 31, 2017 12:07 pm
by bili23
I have Phenom 965 BE and with VoodooPstate loaded I need to put it to maximum frequency 3400MHz to have good performance (for example HD 1080p videos on youtube without framedropping), when I put it to "On Demand Performance" its performance is very weak (can't play HD Youtube videos without frame drop). It says kext is loaded, SMBIOS MacPro 3,1 , CPU Detected as Intel Xeon 3,4 GHz. Any thoughts ? Should it be put to maximum frequency all the time to work normally ?

Re: VoodooPState AMD FX 4100 HELP !!

Posted: Wed May 31, 2017 7:42 pm
by Shaneee
On Demand is the best option as it selects what is needed at that moment in time. If you set the frequency it'll be on that speed constantly which will cause it to heat up.

Re: VoodooPState AMD FX 4100 HELP !!

Posted: Thu Jun 01, 2017 2:30 pm
by bili23
I think it's working good with voodoopstate removed. Overall performance in apps, HD videos and the rest is better. I think voodoopstate slows it down. Should it be like that ?

Re: VoodooPState AMD FX 4100 HELP !!

Posted: Fri Jun 02, 2017 8:15 pm
by Shaneee
VoodooPState has an issue going over a certain speed. It's on my todo list :thumbup:

Re: VoodooPState AMD FX 4100 HELP !!

Posted: Sat Jun 03, 2017 8:26 am
by bili23
I see. So we're waiting patiently for successful results :D But please correct me if I'm wrong - without voodoopstate it's working 100% speed all the time right ?

Re: VoodooPState AMD FX 4100 HELP !!

Posted: Sat Jun 03, 2017 7:35 pm
by Shaneee
I don't think it's full speed all the time no. PState just gives more control.

Re: VoodooPState AMD FX 4100 HELP !!

Posted: Sun Jan 07, 2018 6:38 pm
by Hanfred
I'm facing the same problem since 10.13, is there a solution yet?

Re: VoodooPState AMD FX 4100 HELP !!

Posted: Thu Jun 28, 2018 2:40 pm
by tikizondo94
Hanfred wrote:I'm facing the same problem since 10.13, is there a solution yet?
I was able to correct the issue with specific values in clover and voodootscsyncamd.kext on my FX 8350. I used to use voodoopstate but was never happy with the down clocked results. Check amdosx on discord. There's plenty of info on how to get processor pstates working with our AMDs

Sent from my ONEPLUS A5010 using Tapatalk


Re: VoodooPState AMD FX 4100 HELP !!

Posted: Mon Oct 08, 2018 6:26 pm
by Hanfred
Thank you. I'm on Intel now because of the "simplicity", but I'll keep an eye on AMD.